Recent Sketches

Things have been hectic for me in the past couple of weeks. Given how scattered my mind has been lately, I have not been working on any particular pieces. Instead I’ve been doing a sketch every now and then. Among other things, Yesterday at lunch time I posted a print of Corvus to Grenada for the WOMA – Women Make Art Exhibit

Below are just some simple little mental ramblings.

Above is one of the sketches I did during a figure drawing class at Globe Studios on Feb 27th. It was my first time really drawing a man. For like about a minute it was a little giggle inducing to see the model strip off like it was nothing but then I settled into art mode and there was no more giggling. Similar to when I started drawing horses, it took a long time for me to separate drawing what was really in front of me from what my imagination wanted to fill in. It’s a good exercise and I’m hoping to make it back to another class soon. This was one of my more successful full sketches. Most of the others were zoom ins of a certain gesture or twist of his body. There’s a lot of pretty bad sketches in there too.

This was a quick sketch I did one night thinking about a situation my boyfriend was going through this week.

I don’t really know where this sketch came from. I started drawing and It just kind of happened. It looks like a starved mermaid and a tired eye to me. Dark though it is, I like it.

Leave a Reply

